About us

Once upon a time in late summer 2015, Charité Research Organisation GmbH had invited phage experts to a first brainstorming meeting in Berlin with the aim to advance the development of bacteriophages as an approved therapy. Starting from this meeting, the project Phage4Cure emerged in its current constellation.

The participating institutes and scientists introduce themselves below:

 


Leibniz-Institut DSMZ-Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen GmbH (Braunschweig)

Logo_DSMZ

DSMZ GmbH is one of the largest bioresource centres in the world. The ISO 9001 certified collection currently comprises more than 50,000 cultures of various microorganisms and cell lines and offers comprehensive scientific services. The phage collection is part of the Department of Bioresources for Bioeconomics and Health Research and is a unique feature of the DSMZ among the European bioresource centres. Approximately 800 different phages are part of the collection, the focus is on phages against bacteria of the “ESKAPE” group, common pathogens that are particularly problematic in the clinic due to their antibiotic resistance. The large number of DSMZ phages against Pseudomonas aeruginosa is of special benefit to Phage4Cure and the ideal prerequisite for the research and development part of the project: to select biologically optimally composed phage preparations to be used as medical drug in patients.

In the phage working group at DSMZ GmbH, there are three scientists working on Phage4Cure:

  • Dr. Christine Rohde (head of phage working group; microbiologist). Dr. Rohde coordinates the DSMZ part of Phage4Cure and takes care of organizational aspects and acquisition of resources.
  • Dr. Imke Korf (scientific assistant; biochemist). Dr. Korf is responsible for planning, implementation, evaluation and documentation of the phage experiments.
  • Dr. Johannes Wittmann (scientific assistant; microbiologist). Dr. Wittmann works on the genome sequencing of phages and bacteria and the bioinformatic genome analysis.

 


Fraunhofer-Institut für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin (ITEM, Braunschweig und Hannover)

The Fraunhofer ITEM is a contract research institute with six different business areas related to human health where one focus is on respiratory research. The ITEM has been developing biotechnological processes for many years, in particular pharmaceutical applications. It has been licensed to manufacture active substances for clinical trials for more than 20 years and has been carrying out many projects for the manufacture of active substances in various substance classes.

The following scientists are involved in the Phage4Cure project:

  • Dr. Holger Ziehr (division director pharmaceutical biotechnology, biologist with additional training in chemistry and pharmaceutics). Dr. Ziehr is responsible for the bioprocess development and the GMP production of the phage preparation.
  • Dr. Anton Roß
  • Dr. Sarah Wienecke (scientific assistant; biotechnologist). Dr. Wienecke is responsible for cultivation and processing of the phages.
  • Dr. Claudius Seitz
  • Dr. Sabine Wronski (group leader infection & immunology in preclinical pharmacology and toxicology; biologist). Dr. Wronski is responsible for the detection of phage activity after nebulisation as well as the determination of phage titres in the toxicological samples.
  • Dr. Franziska Dahlmann (Head of Toxicology, Deputy Head of Animal House in the area of Preclinical Pharmacology and Toxicology; Veterinarian). Dr. Dahlmann is responsible for the coordination and conducting of animal toxicological testing.

 


Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Medical Department, Division of Infectiology and Pneumonology (research group pulmonary inflammation)

In addition to university health care and teaching, there are intensive research activities at the Medical Department, Division of Infectiology and Pneumonology. The research group “pulmonary inflammation” under the direction of Prof. Martin Witzenrath consists of experienced clinicians, scientists from various fields, doctoral students and technical staff who investigate new therapeutic perspectives for the treatment of lung diseases. One research focus is on bacterial-host interaction in the lung (e.g. SFB-TR84 “Innate Immunity of the Lung”; CAPSyS “Systems Medicine of Community Acquired Pneumonia”).

The following scientists from the pulmonary inflammation research group are involved in the project:

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Witzenrath (deputy director of the medical department, division of infectiology and pneumonology; head of the research group pulmonary inflammation; specialist in internal medicine, infectiology). Prof. Witzenrath is in charge of the preclinical studies at the Charité and is involved in the planning and conduct of the clinical study.
  • Dr. Sandra Wienhold (scientific assistant; veterinarian). Dr. Wienhold is responsible for the preclinical testing of the phages.
  • Markus Brack (scientific assistant, physician). Mr. Brack supports the preclinical activities.
  • Silke Dusatko (MTA, Dipl. Ing. biotechnology, biology laboratory assistant). Mrs. Dusatko supports the preclinical activities.

 


Charité Research Organisation GmbH (CRO, Berlin)

The CRO is a scientifically driven contract research organisation conducting clinical studies, often in close cooperation with various departments of the Charité. The focus is on demanding phase I and II studies in practically all medical indications which are carried out in their own research unit with more than 60 beds at the Campus Mitte of the Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin. As part of one of the most renowned university clinics in Europe, the CRO is committed to the scientific tradition of the Charité and therefore dedicates itself to interesting research projects which are not or not yet in the focus of the pharmaceutical industry. The first application of the phage preparation in humans will take place at the research unit of the CRO. In addition, the CRO will provide organisational and regulatory support for the entire project, handle data management, statistics and the preparation of the clinical study report.

The following CRO professionals and scientists are part of the project:

  • Dr. Andreas Hüser (head of project management; molecular biologist, MBA). Dr. Hüser keeps the overview…
  • Dr. Rita Hertrampf (head of scientific service; specialist in clinical pharmacology). As a former BfArM executive, Dr. Hertrampf is responsible for regulatory aspects.
  • Jeanette Lehmann, M.Sc. (project management; molecular biologist). Mrs. Lehmann is the project manager of the project in the CRO.
  • Dr. Quirino Schefer (scientific assistant; molecular biologist). Dr. Schefer supports the project in preclinical and regulatory questions.
  • Dr. Markus Uhle (scientific assistant; physician, master in humanitarian assistance). Dr. Uhle supported the successful grant application, will help to set up the upcoming clinical study and administers this website.

Über uns: Die Projektbeteiligten

Mit dem Ziel, die Entwicklung von Bakteriophagen als zugelassenes Arzneimittel voranzutreiben, hatte die Charité Research Organisation GmbH im Spätsommer 2015 Experten verschiedener Fachrichtungen zu einem Gedankenaustausch nach Berlin eingeladen. Aus diesem Treffen ging das Projekt Phage4Cure in seiner jetzigen Konstellation hervor.

Im Folgenden stellen sich die beteiligten Institute und Wissenschaftler vor:

 


Leibniz-Institut DSMZ-Deutsche Sammlung von Mikroorganismen und Zellkulturen GmbH (Braunschweig)

Logo_DSMZ

Die DSMZ GmbH ist eines der größten Bioressourcenzentren weltweit: die ISO 9001-zertifizierte Sammlung umfasst derzeit über 50.000 Kulturen verschiedenster Mikroorganismen und Zelllinien und bietet umfangreiche wissenschaftliche Services an. Die Phagensammlung ist Teil der Abteilung Bioressourcen für Bioökonomie und Gesundheitsforschung und ist unter den europäischen Bioressourcenzentren ein Alleinstellungsmerkmal der DSMZ. Ca. 800 verschiedene Phagen befinden sich in der Sammlung, der Fokus liegt auf Phagen gegen Bakterien der „ESKAPE„-Gruppe, häufige Krankheitserreger, die besonders aufgrund ihrer Antibiotikaresistenzen im klinischen Bereich problematisch sind. Die Vielzahl der DSMZ-Phagen gegen Pseudomonas aeruginosa ist für Phage4Cure von speziellem Nutzen und ermöglicht für den Forschungs- und Entwicklungs-Anteil des Projekts die ideale Voraussetzung, das Ziel biologisch optimal zusammengestellter Phagenpräparate zur Anwendung am Patienten zu erreichen.

In der Arbeitsgruppe Phagen der DSMZ GmbH sind drei Wissenschaftler mit Phage4Cure befasst:

  • Dr. Christine Rohde (Leitung AG Phagen; Mikrobiologin). Dr. Rohde koordiniert den DSMZ-Anteil von Phage4Cure und kümmert sich um organisatorische Aspekte und Akquise von Ressourcen.
  • Dr. Imke Korf (wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin; Biochemikerin). In Phage4Cure hat Dr. Korf die Aufgabe der experimentellen Planung, Durchführung, Auswertung und Dokumentation.
  • Dr. Johannes Wittmann (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Kurator AG Phagen; Mikrobiologe). Dr. Wittmann bearbeitet die Genomsequenzierung von Phagen und Bakterien und die bioinformatische Genomauswertung.

 


Fraunhofer-Institut für Toxikologie und Experimentelle Medizin (ITEM, Braunschweig und Hannover)

Das Fraunhofer ITEM ist ein Auftragsforschungsinstitut mit sechs verschiedenen Geschäftsfeldern rund um die Gesundheit des Menschen, einen Schwerpunkt bildet die Atemwegsforschung. Das ITEM entwickelt seit vielen Jahren biotechnologische Verfahren und hier insbesondere pharmazeutische Anwendungen. Es hat seit 20 Jahren die Erlaubnis zur Herstellung von Wirkstoffen für klinische Prüfungen und in diesem Rahmen viele Projekte zur Wirkstoffherstellung verschiedener Substanzklassen durchgeführt.

Folgende Wissenschaftler sind am Projekt Phage4Cure beteiligt:

  • Dr. Holger Ziehr (Bereichsleitung Pharmazeutische Biotechnologie, Biologe mit Zusatzausbildung Chemie und Pharmazie). Dr. Ziehr ist verantwortlich für die Bioprozessentwicklung und die anschließende GMP-Herstellung der Phagenwirkstoffe.
  • Dr. Anton Roß
  • Dr. Sarah Wienecke (Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin; Biotechnologin). Frau Dr. Wienecke ist für die Kultivierung und Aufarbeitung der Phagen verantwortlich.
  • Dr. Claudius Seitz
  • Dr. Sabine Wronski (Gruppenleiterin Infektion & Immunologie im Bereich Präklinische Pharmakologie und Toxikologie; Humanbiologin). Frau Dr. Wronski ist für den Nachweis der Phagenaktivität nach Verneblung sowie Bestimmung der Phagentiter aus den Proben der toxikologischen Prüfung zuständig.
  • Dr. Franziska Dahlmann (Prüfleiterin Toxikologie, Stellv. Tierhausleiterin im Bereich Präklinische Pharmakologie und Toxikologie; Tierärztin). Frau Dr. Dahlmann ist für die Koordination und Durchführung der tierexperimentellen toxikologischen Prüfung zuständig.

 


Charité – Universitätsmedizin Berlin: Medizinische Klinik mit Schwerpunkt Infektiologie und Pneumologie (Arbeitsbereich pulmonale Inflammation)

Neben universitärer Krankenversorgung und Lehre wird an der Klinik m. S. Infektiologie und Pneumologie intensiv geforscht. Der Arbeitsbereich Pulmonale Inflammation unter der Leitung von Prof. Martin Witzenrath besteht aus erfahrenen Klinikern, Wissenschaftlern aus unterschiedlichen Bereichen, Doktoranden und technischen Mitarbeitern, die neue Therapieperspektiven zur Behandlung von Lungenerkrankungen untersuchen. Ein Forschungsschwerpunkt liegt auf der Bakterien-Wirt-Interaktion in der Lunge (z.B. SFB-TR84 „Innate Immunity of the Lung“; CAPSyS „Systems Medicine of Community Acquired Pneumonia“).

Folgende Wissenschaftler des Arbeitsbereiches Pulmonale Inflammation sind am Projekt beteiligt:

  • Prof. Dr. Martin Witzenrath (Stellv. Direktor d. Med. Klinik m. S. Infektiologie und Pneumologie; Leitung d. Arbeitsbereichs Pulmonale Inflammation; Facharzt für Innere Medizin, Infektiologie). Prof. Witzenrath obliegt die Leitung der präklinischen Untersuchungen an der Charité und er ist an der Planung und Durchführung der klinischen Studien beteiligt.
  • Dr. Sandra Wienhold (Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin; Tierärztin). Frau Dr. Wienhold ist für die Durchführung der präklinischen Testung der Phagen verantwortlich.
  • Markus Brack (Wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter, Arzt). Herr Brack unterstützt die präklinischen Arbeiten.
  • Silke Dusatko (MTA, Dipl. Ing. Biotechnologie, Biologielaborantin). Frau Dusatko unterstützt die präklinischen Arbeiten.

 


Charité Research Organisation GmbH (CRO, Berlin)

Die Charité Research Organisation GmbH führt als wissenschaftliches Auftragsforschungsinstitut klinische Studien durch und kooperiert dabei mit verschiedenen Abteilungen der Charité. Der Schwerpunkt liegt auf anspruchsvollen Studien der Phase I und II in praktisch allen Indikationsgebieten, die auf der hauseigenen Forschungsstation mit mehr als 60 Betten am Campus Mitte der Charité-Universitätsmedizin Berlin durchgeführt werden. Als Teil eines der renommiertesten Universitätskliniken Europas fühlt sich die CRO der wissenschaftlichen Tradition der Charité verpflichtet und widmet sich demgemäß auch interessanten Forschungsprojekten, die nicht oder noch nicht im Fokus der pharmazeutischen Industrie stehen. Die Erstanwendung des Phagenpräparates wird im Rahmen einer klinischen Studie auf der Forschungsstation der CRO erfolgen. Darüber hinaus begleitet die CRO das Gesamtprojekt organisatorisch und regulatorisch und wird das Datenmanagement, die Statistik und die Erstellung des klinischen Studienreports übernehmen.

In der CRO arbeiten folgende Mitarbeiter am Projekt:

  • Dr. Andreas Hüser (Leitung Projektmanagement; Molekularbiologe, MBA für Unternehmensführung). Dr. Hüser behält projektmanagend den Überblick…
  • Dr. Rita Hertrampf (Leitung wissenschaftlicher Dienst; Fachärztin für klinische Pharmakologie). Als ehemalige leitende Mitarbeiterin des BfArM ist Dr. Hertrampf im Projekt unter anderem zuständig für regulatorische Fragen.
  • Jeanette Lehmann, M.Sc. (Projektmanagement; Molekularbiologin). Frau Lehmann ist die Projektmanagerin des Projektes in der CRO.
  • Dr. Quirino Schefer (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter; Biochemiker). Dr. Schefer unterstützt das Projekt in präklinischen und regulatorischen Fragen.
  • Dr. Markus Uhle (wissenschaftlicher Mitarbeiter; Arzt, Master in Humanitarian Assistance). Dr. Uhle hatte das ursprüngliche Konzept erstellt, den erfolgreichen Förderantrag mitverantwortet, wird die kommende Studie mit konzipieren und pflegt diese Webseite.