Project

Welcome to our project homepage.

 

Phage4Cure is a joint project of

The long-term aim of the project is to establish bacteriophages as drugs in the fight against bacterial infections and as such gain legal authorisation as medicinal products in a variety of dosage forms for different indications (more on bacteriophages on our “background” page). A first step in this ambitious project is the development and production of an inhalable product made from bacteriophages against the bacterium Pseudomonas aeruginosa according to international quality standards for medicinal products. This product shall then be tested for safety and tolerance in pre-clinical and clinical trials.

In 2015 the project partners designed a joint concept for this project and submitted it for a grant call of the BMBF at the end of 2016. The project was elected and is since September 2017 finally approved to go ahead.

The four project partners will now work on the different aspects along the lines of their fields of expertise.

Initially, the working group of Dr. Rohde (DSMZ) will select suitable bacteriophages from her phage bank. Only those bacteriophages will be selected that can destroy a sizeable number of Pseudomonas aeruginosa taken from several clinics across Europe. The most promising candidates will then be genetically screened and handed over to Dr. Ziehr (Fraunhofer ITEM).

Following that the working group of Dr. Ziehr will develop an inhalable drug that complies with international regulatory requirements for medicinal products (GMP). Planned is a platform-like production process – meaning a process that is transferable to other bacteriophages with only minor adaptations. The phages undergo large-scale augmentation, purification and ongoing extensive analysis.

As soon as the product is available, it will be passed on to ITEM Hanover and the lab of Professor Dr. Witzenrath (Charité Berlin) for pre-clinical testing. The pharmacological safety studies according to GLP (Hannover) and testing for efficacy and immunogenicity (Berlin) will be carried out respectively. Simultaneous to the pre-clinical and clinical trials, ITEM will collect further stability data. Following the completion and evaluation of the pre-clinical studies and the required regulatory approval, the product will be tested the first time in humans at the research unit of Charité Research Organisation, where initially the safety and tolerability of single and multiple doses will be investigated in healthy volunteers. After the safety studies, another clinical study will be conducted to investigate the efficacy in patients suffering from chronic infection with Pseudomonas aeruginosa.

Projekt

Willkommen auf unserer Projekthomepage.

 

Phage4Cure ist ein gemeinsames Projekt von

Langfristiges Ziel des Projektes ist, Bakteriophagen als Medikament im Kampf gegen bakterielle Infektionen zu etablieren und zur arzneimittelrechtlichen Zulassung zu bringen – und dies in unterschiedlichsten Indikationen und Darreichungsformen (mehr zu Bakteriophagen auf der Seite Hintergrund). Als erster Schritt zu diesem ambitionierten Ziel soll ein inhalierbarer Wirkstoff aus Bakteriophagen gegen das Bakterium Pseudomonas aeruginosa hergestellt werden, der internationalen Qualitätsrichtlinien für Arzneimittel genügt. Dieser Wirkstoff soll dann präklinisch und klinisch auf Sicherheit und Verträglichkeit geprüft werden.

Im Jahre 2015 hatten die Projektbeteiligten ein gemeinsames Konzept für dieses Projekt ausgearbeitet und sich unter anderem am Call des BMBF Ende 2016 beteiligt. Das Projekt wurde zur Förderung ausgewählt und im September 2017 endgültig bewilligt.

Die vier Projektpartner werden entsprechend Ihrer Kompetenzen verschiedene Aspekte bearbeiten:

Im ersten Schritt wird die Arbeitsgruppe von Frau Dr. Rohde in der DSMZ aus ihrem Fundus geeignete Bakteriophagen suchen. Ausgewählt werden diejenigen Kandidaten, die möglichst viele der Pseudomonaden zerstören können, die aus Proben vieler Kliniken aus ganz Europa stammen. Die besten Kandidaten werden dann genetisch untersucht und an Dr. Ziehr (Fraunhofer ITEM) übergeben.

Die Arbeitsgruppe von Dr. Ziehr wird dann aus diesen Phagen ein inhalatives Arzneimittel herstellen, das internationalen Qualitätsrichtlinien („GMP“) genügt. Der Herstellungsprozess soll plattformartig gestaltet sein, das heißt, er soll so aufgebaut sein, dass er mit nur geringen Veränderungen auch auf andere Phagen übertragbar sein wird. Die Phagen werden großtechnisch vermehrt, aufgereinigt und die Produkte laufend umfänglich analysiert.

Sobald erster Wirkstoff zur Verfügung steht, wird dieser zur präklinischen Testung an das ITEM Hannover und an das Labor von Professor Dr. Witzenrath (Charité Berlin) weitergegeben. Dort erfolgen sicherheitspharmakologische Studien nach GLP (Hannover) bzw. Untersuchungen zur Wirksamkeit und Immunogenität (Berlin). Parallel zu den präklinischen und klinischen Studien werden am ITEM weiter Stabilitätsdaten erhoben. Nach Abschluss und Auswertung der präklinische Studien soll dann nach behördlicher Genehmigung auf der Forschungsstation der Charité Research Organisation GmbH die Ersttestung am Menschen erfolgen. Vorgesehen sind zunächst Einzel- und Mehrfachgaben an gesunden Freiwilligen zur Überprüfung der Sicherheit und Verträglichkeit. Im Anschluss an die Sicherheitsstudien soll eine klinische Studie die Wirksamkeit an Patienten mit chronischer Besiedlung durch Pseudomonas aeruginosa untersuchen.